Here's some information you need to spread far and wide with immediate effect: Instagram users can now see when their followers screenshot their disappearing photos. I repeat: THEY CAN NOW SEE WHEN YOU SCREENSHOT THEIR DISAPPEARING PHOTOS.
Don't mind me, just having a mini meltdown here.
Earlier this week, Instagram announced that it was going all Facebook on us by allowing users to live stream from the app, and that it was going all Snapchat on us by allowing users to send private disappearing photos. To be fair, they're all just amalgamating into one now.
But what has also been dicovered is that, along with these new features comes a screenshot notification function, just like Snapchat's. So now, when somebody sends you a private disappearing photo and you screenshot it to show all your mates, the sender will now very much be able to see you've taken a picture of their picture.
Thankfully, this feature only applies to the private disappearing photos function, and doesn't appear to send notifications when users screenshot Instagram stories or normal Instagram pictures. PHEW.
As you can see in this picture released by Instagram to illustrate its new disappearing photos feature, along the top bar underneath one of the icons representing a user's sent photograph, it says the word 'screenshot'. That's how it'll display if anyone screenshots one of your privately sent disappearing photos.
As you can imagine, this new development has been met by a lot of fear, stress, and uncertainty from users who'd believed their screenshotting habits would remain private.
So now you know, you might want to be sparing with your screenshots from now and forever amen.
Follow Cat on Twitter.
This article originally appeared on Cosmopolitan.co.uk. Minor edits have been made by the Cosmo.ph editors.