Sorry, no results were found for

Good News, Hallyu Fans: South Korea Now Has Three Visa-Free Destinations

Good News, Hallyu Fans: South Korea Now Has Three Visa-Free Destinations
PHOTO: Pexels

It seems like the travel scene is on a roll the past couple of days. From free roundtrip tickets to Hong Kong to Taiwan's travel allowance, we keep getting more and more incentives to travel. Not to be outdone by its neighbors, our favorite destination for all things Hallyu just dropped a big surprise—there's another way to visit South Korea visa-free starting March 15.

In a post to their social media pages, the Manila office of the Korea Tourism Organization surprised their audiences with the announcement of three visa-free entry points to the land of K-pop and K-dramas. This announcement, dated today, March 3, now includes the Muan International Airport in Jeollanam-do. Although KTO clarifies that the policy will take effect on March 15.

"VISA-FREE travel to South Korea is possible via 3 airports: Yangyang International Airport in Gangwon Province, Jeju Island, and now Muan International Airport in Jeollanam-do," said the South Korean government-invested corporation under the Ministry of Culture and Tourism, before clarifying the start date. 


In 2022, Filipinos were granted visa-free entry to South Korea via Yangyang International Airport in Gangwon and Jeju International Airport. Granted, tourists may only stay within the Gangwon Province and Jeju Island. It's still unclear if a similar clause will hold for the new port of entry as no official guidelines have been released pertaining to the new policy as of writing.

So, we just have to keep our eyes peeled in the next couple of days for the official announcement. Now the question we're all begging to ask is: where do we book our flights?

For more information, visit Korea Tourism Organization Manila Office's Facebook page.


This article originally appeared on . Minor edits have been made by editors.

watch now
watch now