Sorry, no results were found for

I Pay P2,000/Month For A Dorm Room So I Can Live Closer To The Office

Before I made the move, commuting took around two hours.
PHOTO: Getty Images

This year, I started a new job in BGC—a job I was, generally, very excited about. But as a commuter, my mind was moving at the speed of light. As I’m sure many commuters are aware, depending on where you’re coming from, going in and out of BGC isn’t exactly easy.

In an attempt to figure out the most convenient way to get to work, I was trying different routes and modes of transportation during the first two weeks. But no matter what I did, the commute from Taft—where my family’s condo is located—took two hours. Kahit gaano pa ako kaaga gumising at umalis ng bahay, two hours talaga yung biyahe.

After checking my options, I eventually decided to move closer to work. As luck would have it, there are actually dorm rooms in BGC—perfect for people who work in the area. What’s even better is that my company is graciously paying for the majority of my rent (read: subsidized accommodations). I pay around 30 percent of the original price.


My two-hour commute is now a 15-minute walk, which grants me more sleep and less stress.

TBH, I wouldn’t have considered moving out if it costed me more than what I’m currently shelling out; I know not everyone has this luxury, and I know how lucky I am.

The best part about living closer to the office is…living closer to the office. My two-hour commute is now a 15-minute walk, which grants me more sleep and less stress. In the dorm room, I live with one other person, who’s also my officemate.

Here is a breakdown of my monthly expenses:

  • Rent: P2,000
  • Electricity + water: P600
  • Food: P4,000 (I’m from the province. Whenever I go home, I pack food so I have baon for two to three days.)
  • Transportation (when I go home to the province): P3,080
  • Phone bill: P1,200
  • Phone installment: P1,300
  • Groceries: P2,000
  • Shopping: P2,000
  • Insurance: P1,000
  • Miscellaneous: P5,000

The rest goes directly to my savings.

So far, the biggest perk of moving out is the feeling of independence. It’s kind of liberating to buy my own home essentials—something I’ve never done before. And I’m talking about the simplest things: hangers, adhesive hooks, air fresheners, cabinet organizers; they all make me feel like I’m actual adult. But if I’m being honest, I still rely on my family to some degree. I still pack food from home. I still get towels and sheets from my mom. And every Sunday, I still sleep in my parents’ condo because I miss my family.

Recommended Videos

That’s been the hardest part about living on my own. Before moving to BGC, I was staying in our condo with my sister and my cousins. We’re all really close, and I miss going home after a long, hard day to chikahan about K-pop and K-dramas.

Also, since I’m living with someone I work with, I sometimes feel like I don’t really clock-out because I go home to the same people I’ve been with all day. It’s not ideal, but I know I’ll adjust to this new living situation eventually.

Lately, because of this newfound freedom, I’ve been thinking about buying my own place—a dream I hope to achieve before I hit 30.