A New Whatsapp Feature Stops People From Adding You To Groups Without Consent

FINALLY.
PHOTO: Getty Images

Whatsapp groups can be great. But they can also spam the hell out of your phone notifications, to the point you never want to see that little green icon ever again.

But the tech wizards behind Whatsapp have finally listened to our prayers and introduced a new feature that can stop people adding you to random groups without your prior consent. Gone will be the days you're entered into threads that never seem to end, or superstitious chain message group chats by your naïve mother. Praise be.

The new feature doesn't apply automatically, you have to set it up, but once you update the app it's fairly simple. Here's how it's done:

  1. Open Whatsapp
  2. Go into Settings in the app
  3. Click on Account
  4. Then Privacy
  5. Then Groups
  6. Select one of three options: "Nobody," "My Contacts," or "Everyone." "Nobody" means you'll have to approve joining every group to which you're invited, "Everyone" means you won't have to approve any groups you're added to, and "My Contacts" means only users you have in your address book can add you to groups without prior consent.

If you choose to heighten your security, opting to approve certain groups before you're added to them, you will be sent a private invite from the person via your personal chat, and you'll then have three days to accept entry into the group chat.

Continue reading below ↓

Welcome to your new, less group-chat-notification-cluttered life. Heaven.

Follow Cat on Twitter.

***

This article originally appeared on Cosmopolitan.com/uk. Minor edits have been made by the Cosmo.ph editors.

Sorry, no results were found for