Facebook Messenger Will Now Allow You To Unsend Messages

It's great for getting rid of those drunken replies!
PHOTO: Facebook

We've all sent an accidental "Wave" or a giant blue thumbs up on Facebook Messenger and instantly wished the ground would swallow us up. Thankfully, there's now no need! The social media app announced a new function which allows users to delete messages within a limited amount of time.

Facebook fans will have more control over their conversations; so whether it's an accidental meme sent to the family group chat instead of to your friends, or a drunken message you immediately regret, you can now delete your messages without a trace.

"Messenger's time limit to remove a message is designed to provide users with more control and flexibility over their messages while also ensuring we prevent abuse of the feature (such as sending and removing harmful messages)," Facebook's press release reads. "Messenger users typically delete messages for themselves within a minute of sending it, so Messenger's time limit of ten minutes should give people ample time to remove their message.

Continue reading below ↓

"If a user does receive a harmful message and the sender removes that message, the recipient can, for a limited time, still report the conversation to Facebook for investigation the same way they would with any Messenger conversation."

To delete a message, tap on the post you want to remove and select the option to "Remove for Everyone." The removed message will be replaced by text alerting everyone in the conversation the message was removed. Alternatively, you can "Remove for You" at any time.

This hopefully means that while users can get rid of messages from within a 10-minute window, it won't allow people to abuse the function.

***

This article originally appeared on Cosmopolitan.com/uk. Minor edits have been made by the Cosmo.ph editors.

Sorry, no results were found for