Sorry, no results were found for

Everything You Need To Know About YG Entertainment's Brand New Boy Group, TREASURE

This 12-piece rookie group just might be the next best thing in K-pop!
A photo of YG's new boy group, TREASURE
PHOTO: instagram/yg_treasure_official

It's been a number of years since YG Entertainment last debuted a group, but at the start of 2020, they just revealed they've got a brand new boy group for us to stan: TREASURE. YG made the official announcement on January 6, and spilled major information and updates about their rookie group. Here's what we know about TREASURE so far:

They were supposed to debut as two separate groups (TREASURE and MAGNUM) that would form one big group called TREASURE 13.

Earlier in 2019, it was revealed that YG would be debuting two boy groups: TREASURE (seven members) and MAGNUM (six members), products of the show YG Treasure Box. They would then form one supergroup, TREASURE 13, with all 13 members. But as of January 6, they decided to scrap that idea and merge the two groups into one group, TREASURE.


But wait, TREASURE only has 12 members.

In their January 6 statement, YG also announced that one of TREASURE's members, Ha Yoon Bin, decided to leave the agency to focus on his solo career. His contract with YG was terminated on December 31, 2019. TREASURE, therefore, will debut as a 12-piece boy group. TREASURE is now composed of Bang Ye Dam, Haruto, Kim Jun Kyu, Choi Hyun Suk, Park Jeong Woo, Yoon Jae Hyuk, So Jung Hwan, Park Ji Hoon, Mashiho, Asahi, Kim Do Young, and Yoshinori.

watch now

Expect TREASURE to release music that's written and composed by them!

TREASURE hasn't officially debuted yet but we're super stoked to find out that the boys will be writing the lyrics and composing the music of their own songs. YG previously ruled out the members' artistic involvement in creating their own music, but since their debut was delayed, they found out that the boys actually have the chops to do so! In the same announcement, YG said, "With the new discovery of the TREASURE members' skills, the judgment was made that this could be a good opportunity for TREASURE to shine more brightly in the future."

Their official fandom name is "Treasure Makers."

But the members started referring to their fans as "Teume" for short, and said fans have been using the abbreviated nickname ever since.

Update, 19 May 2020: TREASURE's official IG account shared a poster of the complete group, with the words "Debut Coming Soon." A video uploaded on their official YouTube channel confirmed a July 2020 debut. We can't wait!


Update, 27 October 2020TREASURE made their debut on August 7, and since then the group has already released two single albums, THE FIRST STEP : CHAPTER ONE and THE FIRST STEP : CHAPTER TWO. YG Entertainment recently announced a possible full album drop in early December, following the release of their third single album THE FIRST STEP : CHAPTER THREE.


Follow Jacinda on Instagram.

watch now