Sorry, no results were found for

How To Turn Off Facebook 'Seen' Receipts That Are Ruining Your Life

Because life is awkward enough without people knowing you're ignoring them.

The read receipt or the "seen zone"; the enemy of all who wish to gaze upon wistful messages from long lost (for a reason) frenemies, then pretend they didn't receive them. Wouldn't it be nice for everyone involved if you could read your Facebook messages and think "LOL, I'll reply later/never," without a tick and the word "Seen" giving you away?

Well, with a little bit of magic Internet know-how, you can do just that in a series of clicks that will make your life much less awkward. Want in? Of course you do, you flaky human, so follow these easy steps...

Unseen on Chrome

Some clever Chrome users feel your pain, so they created the Facebook Unseen add-on. Download this extension to disable read receipts any time you send a message on Chrome. Click to download.

Unseen on Firefox

There's also this Firefox version that's as quick and easy to install. Enjoy. Click to download.

Unread on iPhone

iPhone users, rejoice at the most useful and straightforward app on your entire mobile. Unread allows you to read your private messages, well, privately, by simply entering your FB login details in the app and viewing them all through there. Click to download.

Adblock Plus

If you're using Adblock, you can add a custom filter that will block those read receipts. To do it, add this URL to your block list: facebook.com/ajax/mercury/change_read_status.php$xmlhttprequest

And, suddenly, life doesn't have to be like this anymore...


***

This article originally appeared on Cosmopolitan.co.uk. Minor edits have been made by the Cosmo.ph editors.