Google Chrome's New Tool Will Notify You If Your Password Has Been Compromised

Here's how this new feature works.
PHOTO: Pixabay

Google Chrome's new functionality may keep more users' online activity more secure.

Part of the expansion of its Password Checkup, Google's new tool lets users know if their username or password may have been compromised. A pop-up will appear while they are browsing the Internet, asking them if they'd like to change their saved passwords.

Hackers post billions of usernames and passwords in "password dumps." By allowing Chrome to do the password checkup, Google accesses these databases and verifies if users' login details are no longer safe.

The tool is set to be released and managed via the "Sync and Google Services" under the "Settings" tab.

Continue reading below ↓
Recommended Videos
Sorry, no results were found for